post

The Importance of Friendship

Yesterday, I went tobogganing with my son and a friend and his son; both of whom I hadn’t seen in some time.  It was the first real snowfall of the year in Kelowna and the two boys (both four years old) were excited to hurtle themselves down the slope.

While there was no question that both my son and my friend’s son enjoyed the outing, I had an equally enjoyable time catching up with my friend. I am a recent divorcee with a new partner and I have struggled to maintain my male relationships.  Tobogganing this weekend reminded me of the importance of friendship.

I have some really close friends who have been by my side for most of my life.  The most important part of my long-term friendships is that these guys know me and have witnessed all the major changes in my life.  I think about Keith and Allan and how they have seen me as a triathlete, a dedicated student, a physiotherapist, a business owner, a married man, a father, a divorced man, a man in love, a graduate student, a researcher, and now…

What if these friends weren’t in my life?  Who could attest to my story and more importantly, keep me honest to the details!  I am thankful for my friends and will never forget those who have stayed by my side during my challenges.  My friends never judged but accepted my changes as a new chapter for them too.

As we enter the holiday period, much of the focus tends to be on family.  Without question family is important at this time.  What about those without close ties to family?  Who do they have at this time of year?  We had a lovely pre-Christmas dinner tonight with family.  What really added to our dinner tonight were the interesting friends that our children brought to our dinner.  I feel enriched by their presence.

For many people, the holidays are a time of happiness and re-connection with family but for others, it is an intensely sad time of the year too.  My sincere wish for those not with family at this time of year is that they reach out and make contact with an old friend.  Christmas has as much to do with family as it does with friends.  I could not have made it through my most challenging periods of my life without my friends.

I dedicate this blog to my closest friends…you know who you are.

Brett

Comments

  1. I love it

  2. Happy Holidays!

  3. same to you J. We should go for a run?

Leave a Reply

Hunt/Fish/Play

A blog by avid beginners.

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

Unkilled Darlings

Faulkner said, kill your darlings. I say, put them on the internet and let strangers read them.

Daniel Nester

Writer, teacher, husband, dad, Queen fan, inappropriate, dilletante flâneur, Shader.

The Mamafesto

where motherhood & feminism collide

Tales from the Reading Room

A Literary Salon Where All Are Welcome

Alex's blog

I am working on Sealed

More Cabaret

Class, Sass, and a Lot of Ass

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Workplace Wellbeing

A HR CONSULTANCY SERVICE TO ENHANCE WELLBEING IN THE WORKPLACE

livingms

Just another WordPress.com site

Medicine and Serge Benhayon

"The marriage of Western Medicine and Esoteric Medicine will be the greatest union that will serve humanity" ~ Serge Benhayon (on record Feb 2012)

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Planet Plutonium

The World After 3.11 Fukushima

Technology Depot

Tech Buzzes With Technology Depot

CCNA Definitions | Exam Essentials | Notes

My short notes may come handy for you too. Please leave a comment

Stop Smart Meters Australia

Fighting for your financial & physical health, privacy, and safety in Australia

