post

2 steps forward and 1.9 steps backward is still progress!

Hi everyone,

The title of this weeks blog are the exact words that sprang out of my mouth this morning after a night of over-indulging in food and drink.  Like most of you, I struggle to stick to my goals.  To use one of my many, many, many wave metaphors – I struggle to stay on top of the wave.  Some days are better than others but this morning was a painful reminder of how easy it is to slip off the crest.  

When I said to my partner this morning “2 steps forward and 1.9 steps backward is still progress” we both laughed and you know something…I actually felt better!  Sure it was 1:00 PM and I was just getting out of bed but what else could I do but laugh at my humanness.  

I think it is really important to celebrate the small victories and sometimes view our life through a long lens.  I mean if I was to really judge my progress as a human by last night’s example – yikes, I might actually slip into a serious bout of depression and self-loathing.  When I look at my life over a longer spectrum I see that there is some progress.  For all my faults, I am getting better – I think.  

I try to watch what I eat.  I try to not over-imbibe on the juice of the vinifera. I try to be a better partner.  I try to be a better son and a better brother.  Some days I can be proud of my progress and other days…well…not so much.  

I am proud of the fact that I am writing today.  I am happy to be spending a quiet night with my partner and I am happy that I can laugh at myself and see that 1.9 steps backward last night still netted me a 0.1 step forward.

Humbly,

Brett

Leave a Reply

Hunt/Fish/Play

A blog by avid beginners.

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

Unkilled Darlings

Faulkner said, kill your darlings. I say, put them on the internet and let strangers read them.

Daniel Nester

Writer, teacher, husband, dad, Queen fan, inappropriate, dilletante flâneur, Shader.

The Mamafesto

where motherhood & feminism collide

Tales from the Reading Room

A Literary Salon Where All Are Welcome

Alex's blog

I am working on Sealed

More Cabaret

Class, Sass, and a Lot of Ass

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Workplace Wellbeing

A HR CONSULTANCY SERVICE TO ENHANCE WELLBEING IN THE WORKPLACE

livingms

Just another WordPress.com site

Medicine and Serge Benhayon

"The marriage of Western Medicine and Esoteric Medicine will be the greatest union that will serve humanity" ~ Serge Benhayon (on record Feb 2012)

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Planet Plutonium

The World After 3.11 Fukushima

Technology Depot

Tech Buzzes With Technology Depot

CCNA Definitions | Exam Essentials | Notes

My short notes may come handy for you too. Please leave a comment

Stop Smart Meters Australia

Fighting for your financial & physical health, privacy, and safety in Australia

