post

Grade 6 Math and the Tessellations of Life

Alright, if you made it past the title to the text – I thank you.  I was musing (babbling incoherently as my partner calls it) last night about math.  We were helping our 11 year old with math –  a humbling experience for an adult.  He is a bright spark but has some challenges with math.  I can see now that math is not taught for kids to actually figure it out.  If you try to understand the logic behind how math is taught it seems a bit absurd.  I mean, shouldn’t we be teaching math in a way that helps kids understand the big picture first and start to develop some intuition? Okay, back to the most bizarre title for a blog:  As I said, I was musing about math late into the night and how we need to teach math so that kids realize that it really is about taking some funky shape and learning about all the ways we can fill, divide, analyze, dissect, etc. that space.  I then starting thinking about how, really, all shapes are 360 degrees.  I mean even a triangle, and in fact any polygon has 360 degrees on its exterior angles. Shouldn’t kids learn to be absolutely fascinated with this fact!  I started looking at life so differently last night.  I kept seeing repeating patterns of 360 degrees everywhere!  These repeating patterns of 360 degrees are called Tessellations.  Tessella is Latin for small square. Escher was pure genius with putting this to paper. Okay, I am getting to my point… It is to say that if all polygons are 360 degrees, then all natural shapes have a start and a finish at the same point. It is life!  Life is a polygon!  You start as some “star stuff” (Carl Sagan quote) form into a lumpy human and then go back to start stuff.  Even my beloved waves travel 360 degrees: So, in summary: let’s teach math from the perspective of inspiring wonder and intuition and realize that all of life is one big lumpy circle.  We can fight it as much as we like but in the end, we finish back where we started – star stuff.

Brett

Comments

  1. Mark and Sheila says:

    Brett – I was similarly struck recently with the visual construct of infinity with the equation of the golden ratio or section (Frank Lloyd Wright did cool stuff with this! ). There is a really simple diagram in a book called “Wabi Sabi Simple” by Richard Powell that i just finished that was really cool!

    Hope you guys are all well

    Love Sheila.

    • So cool Sheila! I too love the math behind beauty like Golden Mean and Fibonacci series. I will check out the Wabi Sabi book. Very funny as I consider my landscaping style to be Wabi Sabi!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Love to all,
      Brett

  2. Siri Marken says:

    Awesome post! Love it! (Other than you are asking the world to get naked with you. 🙂 ) Xoxoxoxo

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Carol Wade says:

    Hmmmmm…interesting…I like it

  4. it is really fascinating when I started to see the repeating patterns and more importantly the circle of life.

Leave a Reply

Hunt/Fish/Play

A blog by avid beginners.

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

Unkilled Darlings

Faulkner said, kill your darlings. I say, put them on the internet and let strangers read them.

Daniel Nester

Writer, teacher, husband, dad, Queen fan, inappropriate, dilletante flâneur, Shader.

The Mamafesto

where motherhood & feminism collide

Tales from the Reading Room

A Literary Salon Where All Are Welcome

Alex's blog

I am working on Sealed

More Cabaret

Class, Sass, and a Lot of Ass

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Workplace Wellbeing

A HR CONSULTANCY SERVICE TO ENHANCE WELLBEING IN THE WORKPLACE

livingms

Just another WordPress.com site

Medicine and Serge Benhayon

"The marriage of Western Medicine and Esoteric Medicine will be the greatest union that will serve humanity" ~ Serge Benhayon (on record Feb 2012)

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Planet Plutonium

The World After 3.11 Fukushima

Technology Depot

Tech Buzzes With Technology Depot

CCNA Definitions | Exam Essentials | Notes

My short notes may come handy for you too. Please leave a comment

Stop Smart Meters Australia

Fighting for your financial & physical health, privacy, and safety in Australia

